The Cheese Train. Next stop: Pays-d'Enhaut

A journey to the heart of Swiss tradition

Image description 25

The Cheese Train is the perfect experience for food lovers in search of authenticity.

Travelling in first class from Montreux or Zweisimmen to Château-d'OEx, you'll arrive at Restaurant Le Chalet to watch a demonstration of traditional cheese making skills, followed by the pleasure of eating their delicious fondue. After that, you will discover Swiss arts and crafts at the Musée du Pays-d'Enhaut.

 

 

DEMONSTRATION OF ARTISAN CHEESE MAKING

The Restaurant Le Chalet makes its own cheese, "Le Chalet Bio". Dressed in traditional costume, the cheesemaker transforms about 200 litres of organic milk into a hard cheese right in front of your eyes. You can lend a hand in this truly authentic process that takes place over an open wood fire, just like in the alpine chalets. The freshly produced cheese can be tasted at the end of the demonstration.

RESTAURANT LE CHALET

Warm, cosy and thoroughly typical, Le Chalet welcomes you into its rustic setting. An excellent organic cheese fondue will be waiting for you there. And there's the opportunity to buy delicious local products and regional souvenirs in their boutique. Upstairs, there's a model of our trains and the landscape they travel through that will appeal to young and old.

 


MUSÉE DU PAYS-D'ENHAUT

With its collection of craft work and objects used in daily life, our museum offers visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of bygone days. The highlight of the visit is, without doubt, the wonderful collection of antique papercuts. This art has become typical of the Pays-d’Enhaut. A game is proposed for children encouraging them to study these antique objects and to situate them within the context of present day living.

(Audio guides available in E, F and G)

 


ESPACE BALLON

The Espace Ballon, Mecca of hot air balloon, invite you to a journey from the very first days in history to the greatest performances of our days. The first balloon flight around the world with Brian Jones and Bertrand Piccard and more to be discovered in tremendous surroundings. Sky’s the limit and heaven can’t wait... to meet you there...

Der Käsezug. Nächste Haltstelle : Pays-d'Enhaut

Ein Ausflug ins Herz der Schweizer Traditionen

Image description 21

DER KÄSEZUG IST FEINSCHMECKERN VORBEHALTEN, DIE DAS AUTHENTISCHE UND URSPRÜNGLICHE SUCHEN.

Nach einer Reise in der 1. Klasse von Montreux oder Zweisimmen nach Château-d’OEx wird Ihnen im Restaurant Le Chalet gezeigt, wie man Käse herstellt. Sie geniessen ein währschaftes Fondue und entdecken anschliessend die Schweizer Kunsttraditionen im Musée du Pays-d’Enhaut.

 

 

VORFÜHRUNG: HERKÖMMLICHE KÄSEHERSTELLUNG

Das Restaurant Le Chalet stellt seinen eigenen Käse her: den «Chalet Bio». In traditionellen Arbeitskleidern und direkt vor Ihren Augen verwandelt der Käser ca. 200 Liter Biomilch in Hartkäse. Sie sind eingeladen, sich an dieser urtümlichen Aktivität am Holzfeuer – ganz wie in der Alphütte – zu beteiligen und können diesen Käse anschliessend probieren.

RESTAURANT LE CHALET

Das warmherzige, gastfreundliche und für die Region typische Restaurant Le Chalet empfängt Sie in einem rustikalen Rahmen und tischt Ihnen ein währschaftes Bio-Käsefondue auf. Sie erhalten die Gelegenheit, im Laden des Restaurants ausgesuchte regionale Produkte oder Souvenirs zu erstehen. Im oberen Stock können Gross und Klein eine Modellanlage mit unseren Zügen und Landschaften bestaunen.

 


MUSÉE DU PAYS-D'ENHAUT

Dieses Museum stellt Werke der Urgrossnichten des bekannten Vorläufers Louis Saugy aus. Traditionelle Kunst wird verewigt und stellt den Alpaufzug und das Leben der Armaillis in den Vordergrund. Die Künstler F. Saugy-Obrist, A.M. Vallotton-Saugy und die Zwillingsschwestern J. und C. Saugy zeigen eine unermüdliche Liebe für die Natur und Nostalgie der vergangenen Zeiten auf.
(Ein Audioguide D-F-Eng steht zur Verfügung)

 


ESPACE BALLON

Espace Ballon, wichtiger Schauplatz für Heissluftballons, bietet Ihnen einen Lehrpfand zur Geschichte, bis hin zu den grossartigen, heutigen Meisterleistungen, an. Die ununterbrochene Weltreise von Brian Jones und Bertrand Piccard, und noch vieles mehr sind in aussergewöhnlichen Rahmen zu entdecken. Wir freuen uns auf Sie.