Historique

Compagnie du chemin de fer Montreux-Oberland bernois :

 

17 December 1901 marked the beginning of a great rail adventure, with the opening of the first stretch of track between Montreux and Zweisimmen. The entire line (63 kilometres in total) was later finished on 6 July 1905. On 8 June 1912, a new 13-kilometre stretch between Zweisimmen and Lenk was finished. The Montreux-Oberland Bernois (MOB) line was the first line of its size to be electrified and formed part of the great Montreux - Interlaken - Lucerne alpine cross-country line, known by the name of Golden Pass. It demanded all the creative expertise of the builders working on it at that time. The positive results achieved by the line are set out in the MOB's 1998 annual report (which does not cover the connecting lines), as follows: 2,177,452 passengers, 1,196,260 kilometres covered, 348 tons of luggage, 37,100 tons of goods transported, 312 employees, 40 stations and stops and a fleet of 27 locomotives and 60 carriages.

 

The line attracted a great deal of attention when it opened and came into service and its reputation quickly spread beyond Switzerland, particularly to Anglo-Saxon countries. Keen to ensure that its passengers had the most comfortable experience possible, the Compagnie du Chemin de Fer MOB set about acquiring high quality, comfortable rolling stock. From 1906, a dining car service operated by the Compagnie Suisse des Wagons-Restaurants was available between Montreux and Zweisimmen. From 15 June 1931, Pullman trains operated by the Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits and European fast trains ran on the same line every day, with direct connections to Interlaken. The world economic crisis in 1932 led to these trains being withdrawn from normal service at the end of 1933. Thanks to financial assistance from the authorities and the army, extensive renovation work was carried out to the rail network after the Second World War and light rolling stock was purchased. The 1957 federal law on railways meant that the Compagnie du Chemin de Fer MOB was able to claim 12 million Swiss francs for technical improvements. Thanks to this, between 1966 and 1973 it was able to acquire 4 articulated railcars and 15 passenger carriages, as well as fitting the stretch of track between Montreux and Montbovon with automatic block signalling and modernising the electrical supply systems and the track.

 

From 1974 to 1976, the company invested a further 6.5 million Swiss francs in safety equipment for the main Montreux - Zweisimmen line and acquired two new railcars. The Rougemont substation was also built during this period, which, together with the Sendy and Allières substations already in service, supplied traction current to the contact lines. The company subsequently expanded this programme of works by increasing its share capital to invest a further 9 million Swiss francs, much of which was used to purchase equipment and bring old Belle Époque vehicles into service. The company also used the funds raised to improve signalling equipment at around forty level crossings, renovate buildings and build a panoramic train.

Historique

Compagnie du Chemin de Fer Montreux-Oberland Bernois:

 

 

Am 17. Dezember 1901 begann mit der feierlichen Eröffnung eines ersten Streckenabschnitts zwischen Montreux und Zweisimmen ein grosses Abenteuer der Eisenbahngeschichte; die gesamte Strecke (63 km) wurde am 6. Juli 1905 fertiggestellt. Am 8. Juni 1912 wurde ein neuer, 13 Kilometer langer Abschnitt von Zweisimmen bis Lenk fertig. Als erste elektrische Eisenbahnlinie dieser Art verlangte die Montreux-Oberland Bernois (MOB), das Bindeglied der grossen alpinen Querverbindung von Montreux über Interlaken nach Luzern, das später unter dem Namen GoldenPass berühmt wurde, den Ingenieuren jener Epoche das Äusserste an Erfindergeist ab. Der MOB-Tätigkeitsbericht von 1998 nennt die wichtigsten Zahlen zur Hauptlinie, ohne Nebenlinien: 2.177.452 Fahrgäste, 1.196.260 gefahrene Kilometer, 348 Tonnen Gepäck, 37.100 Tonnen transportierte Waren, 312 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, 40 Bahnhöfe und Haltestellen und ein Fuhrpark mit 27 Lokomotiven und 60 Waggons.

 

Seit ihrer Eröffnung und während ihrer gesamten Betriebsdauer war die Eisenbahnstrecke sehr beliebt und wurde weit über die Grenzen der Schweiz hinaus vor allem in den angelsächsischen Ländern berühmt. Die Compagnie du Chemin de Fer MOB war um den Reisekomfort ihrer Fahrgäste stets bemüht und setzte nur sicheres und komfortables rollendes Material ein. So gibt es bereits seit 1906 zwischen Montreux und Zweisimmen einen Speisewagen im Zug. Seit dem 15. Juni 1931 fahren Pullmann-Schlafwagen der Internationalen Schlafwagengesellschaft und grosse europäische Expresszüge auf derselben Linie hin und her, mit direkter Anbindung nach Interlaken. Die Weltwirtschaftskrise von 1932 führte zur Einstellung des regulären Verkehrs bis Ende 1933. Dank der Unterstützung der öffentlichen Hand und der Schweizer Armee wurden nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg umfangreiche Trassen-Renovierungsarbeiten durchgeführt. Es konnte leichteres rollendes Material angeschafft werden. Nach dem neuen Schweizer Eisenbahngesetz von 1957 erhält die Compagnie du Chemin de Fer MOB 12 Millionen Franken für technische Ausstattung und Renovierungsarbeiten. So wurde es zwischen 1966 und 1973 möglich, vier Gelenktriebwagen und 15 Reisewaggons anzuschaffen, den Abschnitt von Montreux bis Montbovon mit einer Streckenblockanlage auszurüsten und Stromversorgung und Gleise zu modernisieren.

 

Von 1974 bis 1976 konnten dank eines neuen 6,5-Millionen-Franken-Förderprogramms die Sicherheitsanlagen auf der Strecke Montreux-Zweisimmen fertiggestellt und zwei neue Gelenktriebwagen angeschafft werden. Das im selben Zeitraum gebaute Umspannwerk Rougement vervollständigt die Bahnstromversorgung mit Gleichstrombahnen und ergänzt die beiden Umspannwerke Sendy und Allières. Eine Eigenkapitalinvestition der Gesellschaft in Höhe von 9 Millionen Schweizer Franken vervollständigte die Förderung und ging zum grossen Teil in den Einkauf von Materialien und die Inbetriebnahme alter Belle-Époque-Anlagen; sie floss ausserdem in verbesserte Signalanlagen von etwa 40 Niveauübergängen, in die Renovierung von Gebäuden und den Bau eines Panoramawagens.