The Cheese Train. Next stop: Pays-d'Enhaut

A journey to the heart of Swiss tradition

Image description 20

The Cheese Train is the perfect experience for food lovers in search of authenticity.

Travelling in first class from Montreux to Château-d'OEx, you'll arrive at Restaurant Le Chalet to watch a demonstration of traditional cheese making skills, followed by the pleasure of eating their delicious fondue. After that, you will discover Swiss arts and crafts at the Musée du Vieux Pays-d'Enhaut.




The Restaurant Le Chalet makes its own cheese, "Le Chalet Bio". Dressed in traditional costume, the cheesemaker transforms about 200 litres of organic milk into a hard cheese right in front of your eyes. You can lend a hand in this truly authentic process that takes place over an open wood fire, just like in the alpine chalets. The freshly produced cheese can be tasted at the end of the demonstration.


Warm, cosy and thoroughly typical, Le Chalet welcomes you into its rustic setting. An excellent organic cheese fondue will be waiting for you there. And there's the opportunity to buy delicious local products and regional souvenirs in their boutique. Upstairs, there's a model of our trains and the landscape they travel through that will appeal to young and old.



This folk art museum brings together the work of 100 découpeurs (paper cutters) under the title of "Suisse Miniature". An excellent opportunity to see how these artists perceive the world around them through their paper silhouettes. An unmissable event! (Audio guides available in E, F and G)

Train du fromage. Prochain arrêt: le Pays-d’Enhaut

Une incursion au cœur des traditions suisses

Image description 20

Le Train du Fromage vous emmènera sur la voie des traditions suisses de Montreux à Château-d'OEx

Après un voyage en 1ère classe de Montreux à Châteaud' OEx, vous assisterez à une démonstration de fabrication artisanale de fromage au restaurant Le Chalet. Vous y dégusterez une succulente fondue, puis vous découvrirez les traditions de l'art suisse au Musée du Vieux Pays-d'Enhaut.

 

 

DÉMONSTRATION DE FABRICATION ARTISANALE DE FROMAGE

Le restaurant Le Chalet fabrique son propre fromage, «Le Chalet Bio». En costume traditionnel et devant vos yeux, le fromager transforme quelque 200 litres de lait bio en fromage à pâte dure. Vous pourrez aussi participer à cette authentique activité effectuée au feu de bois, comme dans les chalets d'alpage, et déguster le fromage en fin de fabrication.

RESTAURANT LE CHALET

Chaleureux, accueillant et typique, Le Chalet vous reçoit dans un cadre rustique. Une excellente fondue au fromage bio vous y attendra. Vous aurez la possibilité d'acquérir d'excellents produits locaux ou souvenirs de la région dans leur boutique. A l'étage, une maquette reproduisant nos trains et nos paysages saura passionner petits et grands.

 


MUSÉE DU VIEUX PAYS-D'ENHAUT

Ce musée d'art populaire invite 100 découpeurs sous le titre «Suisse Miniature». Une excellente occasion de voir comment ces artistes perçoivent le monde qui les entoure au travers de leurs silhouettes en papier. Un événement incontournable! (audio guide f+d+e à disposition)

 

Brochure